You ARE who you hang with.

 

When we allow people to come into our world and create a relationship with them we have to be careful-  let me elaborate..

As humans we have a tendency to take on the characteristics of the people we hang around with.

I found myself in this position just a few years ago.. I had a friend who was very different from myself, and she created a toxic environment for me. I started doing things she did, I started listening to the music she did, I even started to talk like she did, I picked up on her characteristics and turned them into my own without even realizing it.  It was very foolish, but it wasn’t until AFTER I ended the friendship I realized how toxic it was. I know for a fact that if I continued the friendship my life would be very differently today.. and not in a good way! In no way am I saying if you do feel you have a toxic friendship that you have to end up, that was just the best decision for my situation.. but with any friendship it is ALWAYS a good idea to proceed with caution and set boundaries if you think they are needed.

Toxic environments can bring even the happiest people down. So, 

Always be sure to surround yourself with positive people. 

People who lift you up, not people who bring you down.

Surround yourself with people who WANT to see you succeed, not people who secretly wish for your failure. 

This all may seem like common knowledge to you, I’m sure you’ve been told since you were young don’t be friends with “bad” people but as this may be easy when you are a child it can become more difficult when you are an adult.

You may not even realize you are in a toxic relationship or environment. But always trust your instincts if it doesn’t feel right it probably isn’t and always trust what your parents say (EVEN IF YOU ARE AN ADULT), for some reason the can spot a toxic relationship before you can.. 

People inspire you, or they drain you – pick them wisely-Hans F. Hansen

-XOXO

 

2 thoughts on “You ARE who you hang with.

Leave a Reply

